User Rating: 5 / 5

Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active

Franklin County, Kansas was established in 1855 and named in honor of the legendary Benjamin Franklin. It is located in the second tier of counties west from Missouri, and also in the second tier south from the Kansas River. It is bounded on the north by Douglas County, on the east by Miami, on the south by Anderson, and on the west by Coffey and Osage counties.

County Seat: Ottawa, Kansas

Date organized:1857

County History:

  1. History of Franklin County 
  2. Cutler's History of the State of Kansas, Franklin county 

Historic Landmarks, State, National:

  1. Dietrich Cabin
  2. Eight Mile Creek Warren Truss Bridge
  3. Franklin County Courthouse
  4. National and State Registers for Franklin County 

County Historical Society:

Franklin County Historical Society 

Websites about the county:

  1. Franklin County Government 
  2. City of Ottawa, Kansas