Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

Ottawa county, organized in 1866, is situated on the west side of the sixth principal meridian, 125 miles west of the Missouri River, and in the third tier of counties from the north. It is bounded on the north by Cloud County, on the east by Clay, on the south by Saline, and on the west by Lincoln and Mitchell counties. It is twenty-four miles north and south, by thirty east and west, and contains 460,800 acres. It is one of the best counties in Central and Western Kansas, having a rich soil, desirable location, being most admirably watered, and possessing a good supply of timber, and an abundance of excellent building stone, red sandstone, and limestone. It is watered by the Solomon and Saline rivers, and numerous creeks.


County Seat: Minneapolis, Kansas

Date organized:1866

County History:

Cutler's History of the State of Kansas,Ottawa County 

Historic Landmarks, State, National:

  1. Rock City
  2. Pike Trail Marker Located west of Delphos, Kansas 
  3. Monument of Lincoln's Little Correspondent 
  4. Minneapolis Archaeological Site
  5. Archaeological Site Number 14OT4

County Historical Society:

Ottawa County Historical Society 

Websites about the county:

  1. Ottawa County Government 
  2. City of Minneapolis, Kansas 
  3. City of Bennington, Kansas 
  4. City of Delphos, Kansas
  5. City of Tescott, Kansas