User Rating: 5 / 5

Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active

Morris County is situated in the center of the eastern half of the State. This county is bounded on the north by Davis County, and a portion of Wabaunsee; on the south  by Chase County and a part of Marion; on the east by Lyon County and a portion of Wabaunsee, and on the west by a part of Dickinson and Marion counties. The county contains eleven civil townships, and in shape is square, except that in the northeast corner its square formation is broken by the southwest corner of Wabaunsee County, while in the northwest corner, a strip about two miles wide and four miles long is taken from the square and added to Dickinson County.


County Seat: Council Grove, Kansas

Date organized:1858

County History:

Cutler's History of the State of Kansas, Morris County

Historic Landmarks, State, National:

  1. Santa Fe Trail Area Landmarks
  2. Kaw Mission State Historic Site 
  3. Tallgrass Prairie National Preserve
  4. Diamond Springs
  5. Flint Hills Nature Trail 

County Historical Society:

Morris County Historical Society  | Facebook 

Websites about the county:

  1. Morris County Government 
  2. City of Council Grove, Kansas 
  3. Council Grove/Morris County Chamber of Commerce & Tourism  | Facebook 


Morris County History Timeline

In the spring of 1847,  Seth M. Hays established a trading post at Council Grove, on the Kaw reserve.

February 1850 - The Methodists established the Kaw mission at Council Grove; T. S. Huflfaker taught the school until 1854. The Methodist missions among the Indian tribes in Kansas.