Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

Labette County was organized on March 10, 1867, by Larkin McGee; William Blythe; Finchel Monroe; David Hopins; Austin T. Dickerman; Samuel Collins; Jabez Zink; Charles Bent; C. H. Talbot; Ba. A. Rice; Elza Craft; David Lowe; J. S. Waters; C.C. Clover; J. F. Newlon; and George W. Kingsbury. Containing the cities of Chetopa, Edna, Bartlett, Labette, Mound Valley, Altamont, Oswego and Parsons, the county was named for the Kiowa Indians.


County Seat: Oswego, Kansas

Date organized:1867

County History:

History of Labette County on Kansapedia

Historic Landmarks, State, National:

  1. Landmarks in Labette County
  2. Big Brutus

County Historical Society:

  1. Parsons Historical Society Museum
  2. The Iron Horse Museum
  3. Oswego Historical Museum

Websites about the county:

  1. Labette County Government
  2. City of Oswego, Kansas | Facebook
  3. City of Parsons, Kansas