Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

Cloud County, formerly Shirley County, is on the west side of the sixth Principal Meridian in the second tier of counties from the north. It is bounded on the north by Republic, on the east by Washington and Clay, on the south by Ottawa, and on the west by Mitchell and Jewell counties. The northern third of the county lies in the Republican Valley, and its southwest townships are in the valley of the Solomon, making it agriculturally, one of the finest in the State. The elevated, rolling and quite broken country between the Republican and Solomon rivers at first was considered useless, but a large portion of it is now under cultivation, yet it is better suited for grazing purposes. SourceCutler's History of the State of Kansas


County Seat: Concordia

Date organized:1866

County History:

Cutler's History of the State of Kansas, Cloud County 

Historic Landmarks, State, National:

  1. Jamestown State Wildlife Management Area
  2. Brown Opera House (Brown Grand Theater), Concordia, Kansas
  3. Nazareth Convent and Academy, Concordia, Kansas.
  4. Brownstone Manor, in Concordia, Kansas
  5. Union Pacific Railroad Depot in Concordia, Kansas.
  6. County Line "Bowstring" Bridge
  7. Manna House of Prayer
  8. Charles Van DeMark home built in 1884 in Clyde, Kansas.
  9. P.O.W Camp Concordia

County Historical Society:

Cloud County Historical Society

Websites about the county:

  1. Napoleon Bonaparte Brown 
  2. Cloud County Government
  3. City of Concordia, Kansas
  4. City of Clyde, Kansas
  5. City of Glasco, Kansas
  6. City of Miltonvale, Kansas