Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

Logan County is named in honor of John A. Logan (1826-1886), a Union general during the Civil War and later U.S. senator from Illinois. On September 17, 1887, Governor John A. Martin, by proclamation, declared the organization of Logan County, Kansas and appointed officers to hold office until the election and qualification of legally elected officers took place. 


County Seat: Oakley, Kansas

Date organized:1888

County History:

  1. History of Oakley, Kansas 
  2. History of Logan County 

Historic Landmarks, State, National:

  1. Monument Rocks
  2. The Doughboy

County Historical Society:

  1. Fick Fossil Museum 
  2. Keystone Gallery 
  3. Butterfield Trail Museum 
  4. Buffalo Bill Cultural Center 

Websites about the county:

  1. City of Oakley, Kansas 
  2. Logan County Kansas on BlueSkyways